I don’t know if it’s because Fall is creeping up on me, but I have been on such a casserole kick lately. My style of casserole is a little different from the traditional pasta-based types. But that doesn’t mean it’s any less delicious!

I decided to try out some fat free cream cheese the last time I was at the grocery store, and it has been the star of my dinners the past couple nights. Tonight was no exception. After getting several ideas from Pinterest, I felt confident enough to start whipping up my own concoction. I’ll call it Cheesy Chicken and Veggie Casserole.

Ingredients: 

  • 8oz shredded cooked chicken breast
  • 2 cups petite broccoli florets
  • 2 cups cauliflower florets
  • 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 4 Tbls fat free cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup + 2 Tbls fat free shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 Tbls olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Heat olive oil in a large skillet
  • Add onion and cook until onions begin to brown slightly
  • Mix in broccoli, cauliflower, and shredded chicken
  • Spoon in cream cheese and 1/2 cup shredded cheddar. Mix well!
  • Spread into any smaller baking dish, such as an 8 in. square dish
  • Bake for 25-30 minutes

Check out all that cheesy goodness!

 

This recipe makes 2 servings. Which means leftovers! Geez louise I love casserole!

