So, I know this blog is supposed to be about food, fitness, and all that jazz. But check that bad boy out. Spotted this little ‘bugger’ at Trebes Park today. This picture doesn’t even do him justice. That’s Chicago for ya! Full of nature right?…right?

On a more important note, this is my second day posting! Wahoo! Today’s menu was full of goodies. The day started off with a bang when I whipped up this protein-packed smoothie bowl for breakfast:

That’s right, I needed a spoon it was so thick! I tossed the following into the blender:

  • 2 liquid egg whites (about 1/3 cup)
  • 1/2 of a frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup of frozen spinach
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1 Tbls PB2
  • handful of strawberries
  • 4 ice cubes
  • pinch of Splenda
  • few Tbls of water to get it moving

YUM! I’d say this was definitely the food highlight of my day. Everything else was pretty mediocre apart from the chocolate chunk cookies I treated myself with at work! Oh, and my awesome Cheesy Chicken and Veggie Casserole leftovers for dinner!

I polished dinner off with my new favorite dessert treat:

Dark Chocolate-Covered Almonds, thanks to my boyfriend’s mom! They’re so dang addicting.

Time to get serious. Work consumed my life today. Pouring rain caused me to skip the run I had planned for this morning. All day I debated whether or not I should use today as my “off day” for workouts this week. This thought crosses my mind probably five out of the seven days of the week, every week. It’s a miracle that I usually only take one day off from the gym per week.

Whenever sitting on my couch watching Four Weddings sounds like a better idea than getting my butt to the gym, I think about a quote I once read:

I’ve never regretted my decision to workout, as opposed to not.

So simple, yet so true. I know I will always regret skipping my planned workout, but I have never felt guilty or regretful about getting up and working out.

After weighing the pros and cons of using today as my off day, the cons outweighed the pros, and I made the decision to go for a night run. It wasn’t the best workout by any means. I was approached by a drunk homeless man and nearly attacked by a dog the size of my foot. But gosh darnit it felt good to get movin’!

That’s all I have for tonight. The season finale of True Blood was on last night and I have been dying to watch it all day! Off I go!

