In the past couple days I’ve been brainstorming what the next steps are in order to get this blog rolling. I realized that although I gave an extensive history of my eating habits in my “About” page, I failed to include what my diet consists of today! This blog is supposed to be all about healthy recipes and fitness, and I didn’t even mention my current nutrition and fitness regimen.

What the heck? Clearly this is a learning process.

Diet and Nutrition

I tend to stick to a low-carb, high protein diet. I know low-carb isn’t for everyone, but it definitely works for me. Now, I’m no extremist. Sandwiches are the best things in the world, and I need to indulge in a big meaty sub every so often. However, in my day-to-day diet I do eat pretty low-carb. I love eating meals that are rich in lean proteins and lots of veggies. Chicken, turkey, fish, and lean beef are staples in my diet, as well as egg whites, and low fat cheeses. So, if you’re a grain-loving vegetarian this may not be the best place to look for recipe ideas.

Here are examples of my every day meals. Some of which I make quite frequently, and some one time experiments.

Low-carb chicken and spinach baked pasta

Ingredients: chicken breast, carba nada fettuccine noodles, frozen chopped spinach, fat free cream cheese, fat free shredded mozzarella, marinara sauce, garlic

Crock pot BBQ Pulled Chicken

Ingredients: chicken breast, ketchup, brown sugar, cider or red wine vinegar, BBQ sauce, yellow onion, garlic powder, water

chicken, spinach, sweet potato, and black bean dinner hash

Ingredients: ground chicken or turkey, frozen or fresh chopped spinach, sweet potato, low sodium black beans, garlic and onion powder

Low-carb breakfast quesadillas

Ingredients: Tumaro’s low carb wrap, egg whites or eggs, fat free shredded cheddar cheese, green bell pepper, hot sauce, salsa, plain low fat greek yogurt or sour cream

Flax paleo “oatmeal”

Ingredients: ground flax, egg whites, almond milk, mashed banana, cinnamon, vanilla whey protein, berries, nut butter, or topping of choice

Low-carb, sugar free chocolate zucchini bread

Ingredients: zucchini, egg beaters or eggs, coconut flour, unsweetened cocoa powder, splenda or sweetener of choice,  chocolate PB2 or other nut butter, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, vanilla extract, salt

protein packed, low-carb blueberry mini muffins

Ingredients: Vanilla whey protein, low-fat cottage cheese, oats, vanilla muscle milk or almond milk, egg whites, baking powder, vanilla extract, fresh or frozen blueberries

Low-carb tortilla pizza

Ingredient: Tumaro’s low-carb wrap, tomato paste, tomato sauce, fat free shredded cheddar and mozzarella, fresh spinach, red onion, ground turkey, any toppings of choice

And there you have it!

Fitness 

My workout regimen is a mix of traditional and experimental. I am the type of girl who enjoys good, old fashioned weight lifting and cardio. However, this can get old very quickly. I am a big fan of circuits, drop-sets, and super-sets. I believe that lifting heavier weight is more beneficial than lifting light weight for a greater amount of repetitions. I weight train anywhere from 4-6 times per week, splitting up the days by muscle group (legs, chest, back, shoulders, biceps, triceps, abs).

In addition to weight training, I incorporate cardiovascular exercise into my workouts at least 4 times per week. I am a strong believer in HIIT (high intensity interval training). This means that I go from extremely low intensity to very high intensity. I usually do this on the treadmill. For example, I will walk at 3.5 MPH for 1 minute, and then immediately sprint at 9.0 for 1.5-2 minutes. I will repeat this for 20-30 minutes.

I also enjoy going for outdoor runs at least once a week. I run at a steady pace when running outdoors, and usually shoot for at least 3 miles. I do not normally time myself on my outdoor runs.

There you have it. A very brief overview of my day-to-day nutrition and fitness routines. I will definitely be posting the recipes in greater depth as this blog progresses. Believe me, you ain’t seen NOTHIN’ yet!

