Welcome to my first blogging milestone! According to WordPress, 5 posts was my first goal. After today, I will officially be moving onto bigger and better things by completing my fifth post. Go me!

I’m home in Minneapolis for this Labor Day weekend. This is most likely the last time I will get to visit home before Thanksgiving, so I’m trying to make every minute count. I kicked off the weekend in a good way last night. My good friend from high school, Carly, is leaving for Spain tomorrow. Naturally, we had to hit up half-priced appetizers at Applebee’s to give her a proper farewell! Half-priced apps have always been a staple in our friendship. My boyfriend, Mike also joined us. I indulged in some traditional hot wings, which were right on the money.

From Applebee’s Website

Applebee’s has the best wings in the neighborhood. What can I say? I’m easy to please. We also split an order of nachos, which were a little disappointing if I do say so, myself. For some bizarre reason Applebee’s has made the decision to change their perfect classic nachos to chili cheese nachos.

From Applebee’s Website

Despite my disappointment in the unnecessary change, I ate about half the plate.

Breakfast

Since I “treated” myself to straight junk food last night, I needed a healthy, but satisfying meal this morning.

Yummy Breakfast Pocket

One of the best things about coming home is the change in food selection! I decided to whip up a breakfast pocket. My pocket consisted of the following:

  • Brownberry 8 Grain Pocket Thin
  • 4 egg whites
  • 3 slices black forest ham
  • 2 slices Kraft Singles fat free cheddar
  • 1 Tbls sugar free blackberry jelly

I enjoyed some sliced zucchini from my Mom’s vegetable garden on the side. My Mom and Stepdad, Tom are not coffee drinkers, so I had to settle for a hot cup of green tea with my breakfast.

This is probably a good thing, since I’ve been drinking about 4 cups of coffee per day lately. I really need to cut back.

I’m really looking forward to this weekend. There are numerous fun-filled things on the agenda, including a haircut, camera shopping (so I can stop taking the crappy phone pictures), back-to-school shopping (yes, I am 5-years-old), visiting the Minnesota State Fair, and just spending some time with my Mom, Tom, and the DOGS!

Alfie & Poppy = World’s Cutest Dogs

These dogs eat everything. Seriously, they’ve eaten glass. They’re NUTS, but I love them.

Alright, off for a quick run before the festivities begin!

