Today was my last first day of school EVER! Weird, right? Anyway, during the school year I tend to make meals that will last me a few days. I decided to kick the year off right yesterday by making one of my classics, turkey chili! I love chili, and I love this recipe. I’ve been tweaking it for the past couple years, and personally think it’s close to perfect. It’s packed with lean turkey, 3 types of beans, and lots of spice. Yummy time.

Classic Turkey Chili

Chili!

Ingredients:

Makes 6 servings

  • 1 20oz package extra lean ground turkey
  • 1 can chili beans
  • 1/2 can low sodium dark red kidney beans (drained & rinsed)
  • 1/2 can low sodium black beans (drained & rinsed)
  • 1 15oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 8oz can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 1 large garlic clove
  • 1 tbls chili powder
  • 1 tbls chili seasoning (I use McCormick’s)
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp Cholula hot sauce
  • pinch of salt

Secret Ingredient

Directions:

  • In a large pot, cook ground turkey over medium high heat until done.
  • Turn heat to low medium, and stir in all 3 types of beans.
  • Stir in diced tomatoes & tomato sauce.
  • Stir in remaining ingredients and spices .
  • Cover and let sit on very low heat for 1-1 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally.

 

Top it off with some shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, or even plain greek yogurt! This made for the perfect lunch yesterday and I can’t wait to have it again for dinner tonight. This recipe is always better the second day. I warmed up a bowl of this good stuff for Mike last night. Apparently, it wasn’t enough for him, and he requested french toast about 30 minutes later.

 

I spoil him.

Tomorrow is another big day. It is my first day at my new NBC5 Chicago Internship! Hmmm this may call for some serious brain food for breakfast.

