I seriously can’t contain my excitement for Fall. Over a month ago, I stumbled upon a recipe on Pinterest for Halloween Monster Cookies that I knew I just had to try! I’m hosting my dance team’s first team dinner of the year tonight, and decided these would be the perfect treat. I tweaked them slightly to make them more festively Fall rather than just Halloween.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar (packed)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups creamy peanut butter
  • 4 1/2 cups quick 1-min oats
  • 3/4 cup M&Ms (I found a bag of orange, brown, and yellow M&Ms for Fall)
  • 3/4 cup mini chocolate morsels
  • 1/2 cup chopped candy corn
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking soda

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Combine eggs and sugars in a large mixing bowl
  • Add vanilla, butter, and peanut butter. Mix until smooth
  • Add oats slowly, then baking soda and salt. Mix until well combined
  • Fold in M&Ms, mini chocolate morsels, and candy corn
  • Using a 1/8 cup (or an ice cream scoop), scoop dough onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a silpat. (Note: cookies get HUGE. I put 6 on each baking sheet in order to avoid overlapping while baking.)
  • Bake for approximately 11 minutes
  • Immediately upon removing from oven, push additional candy corn pieces into the soft cookies.
  • Let cool and transfer to a wire rack.

Check out that festive platter! I’ve been looking forward to having a use for it for so long. I can’t wait to show these bad boys off tonight. These cookies are super chewy and gooey due to the candy corn. Delish!

Also, I want to preview a new little something I’ve been working on. Behold the mashed cauliflower:

Mashed cauliflower sounds so simple, right? Wrong. I’m trying to imitate the consistency of mashed potatoes without using any heavy creams or too much butter. I made these last night, and they were pretty good but I know I can do better. Recipe to come soon!

Have a good Football Sunday! SKOL VIKES!

