Something happened today that hasn’t happened for months. I got to sit around and lounge for a majority of my day. I almost forgot how good it feels!

Today’s activities included perusing Pinterest, watching football (Go Vikes!), and baking pumpkin protein bars.

Pumpkin Protein Bars

Ingredients:

  • 2 scoops vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 3 egg whites
  • 2 tsp splenda or other sweetener
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda

Frosting Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp splenda
  • 1/2 tbs sugar free syrup
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Combine all ingredients for bars in a medium bowl.
  • Pour batter into an 8×5 baking dish, or similar size.
  • Bake for 16 minutes.

For Frosting:

  • Combine all frosting ingredients in a small bowl.
  • Microwave for 30 seconds.
  • Pour over bars while still hot.
  • Let set for at least 30 minutes before cutting into 8 squares.

 

I’ve baked protein pumpkin bars before, but these were by far the best. The recipe is so simple but they turned out really well for protein bars. Not too dry, but not too moist. When cut into 8 pieces, one bar has 58 calories, 10g of protein, 4g of carbs, and 1g of fat. Not too shabby!

Franks n’ Dawgs

Last night was the second installment of Mike and I’s new “tradition” of date night. I’ve been wanting to try Franks n’ Dawgs for a while. Franks n’ Dawgs is not your average hot dog joint. It’s hard for hot dogs to stand out in a place like Chicago, where you can get a delicious dog on nearly every street corner, but I was so impressed by Franks n’ Dawgs! They make most of their sausages in house and use high quality ingredients. Their menu was so different I had such a hard time choosing.

We started with some fried pickles served with a giardiniera aioli:

That sauce was outstanding.

For my main dish I decided to go with the “Krazy Kimchi”, which included a Spicy beef sausage, braised short rib, turnips, kimchi, wild rice, and basil.

Krazy Kimchi

 

SO GOOD! Mike went with the “Pork of July”, which was just as awesome.

Any hot dog with pulled pork and coleslaw sounds good to me! Mike claims his was better than mine, but I’d say it was a tie. I will definitely be making another trip to Franks n’ Dawgs in the near future.

I will be posting my recipe for cauliflower: mashed potato style this week. I made it tonight and Mike even approved, so you know it’s good! He can be a tough critic when it comes to healthy recipes.

 

 

