Happy October! I officially have an excuse to buy halloween candy that I don’t need! Okay, so maybe I already did that two weeks ago. Halloween might be my second favorite holiday, after Christmas of course. Some things I love about Halloween season are:

  • Costumes! I tend to go a little overboard with my halloween costumes. I’ve never been the type to settle for the store-bought “sexy witch”.
  • Pumpkin carving. I’m making mike go to a pumpkin patch with me this year, seriously.
  • Pumpkin flavor. In case this one isn’t apparent through my constant pumpkin recipes. Canned pumpkin goes with everything from oatmeal to smoothies. Love that stuff.
  • Baking! Maybe I’m wrong but I feel like Halloween sort of kicks off the holiday baking season.
  • Halloween parties. Since I love costumes so much, I naturally love halloween parties. Not only do I have a reason to dress up, but so does everyone else! I love seeing what other people come up with, and usually end up feeling a little jealous that I didn’t think of such cool ideas.

This past Saturday I had a quite night in by myself. What do I do with nothing but time and some rotting bananas? Make banana bread, of course!

Healthy Banana Bread with Dairy Free Chocolate Chips

I’ve had the banana bread bug all week. I even decided to pick up some dairy free chocolate chips to test out, after seeing them pop up in multiple recipes lately. Although I’m no novice when it comes to baking banana bread, I am far more accustomed to making the buttery, floury, “good” kind. I decided to improvise and come up with my own healthified version!

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 scoops vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 4 tbs ground flax seed
  • 2 egg whites
  • 4 tbs light butter (I used Smart Balance Omega-3 Light Buttery Spread)
  • 1/2 cup granulated Splenda or sweetener of choice
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup dairy free chocolate chips (or regular semi-sweet chocolate chips)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • In a large bowl, cream butter and sweetener together until smooth.
  • Add egg whites to mixture and stir.
  • Add mashed bananas, vanilla extract, and ground flax.
  • Combine flour, whey protein and baking soda in medium bowl.
  • Add flour mixture to wet ingredients slowly, mix until smooth.
  • Fold in chocolate chips.
  • Pour mixture into a greased loaf pan and bake for 30 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

This banana bread was definitely a success! I cut the loaf into 10 slices. Each slice contained 14g of carbs, 4g of fat, and 9g of protein. I’ve been picking at it since Saturday night, and even fixed myself a littler banana bread dessert tonight.

You’re probably wonder one of two things:

1. Why do I have such ugly plates

2. What the heck is that creamy white substance distracting from the delicious banana bread

Well, I have ugly plates because my roommates and I are in college and don’t have the time or the money to be concerned with fashionable dish ware. AND that creamy goodness is my signature greek yogurt frosting! Greek yogurt+sweetener=frosting. I swear greek yogurt is the most versatile food.

I’m wiped. Cheers to October!

