Greetings! It is almost midnight on Thursday night and this is the first chance I’ve had to blog at all since Saturday! Oofta! It’s been one heck of a busy week. Nevertheless, no matter how busy a week may be, I always make time to feed myself well! It’s called prioritizing, people.

Remember that ridiculous pork chop I posted last weekend from Ditka’s? Allow me to refresh your memory:

Oh yeah, that’s the one.

Well, I’ve been thinking about how delicious it was all week, and last night I was inspired to take a whack at my own scaled down version of DA CHOP! I had a few setbacks in my attempt. First of all, the cashier at Dominick’s failed to ring up the sweet potato that I picked out specifically for my replication! Things got ugly when I got home and discovered there was no sweet potato in my grocery bag. Second of all, I don’t know how to make cherry/raspberry chutney. So, I decided to make a sugar free cranberry sauce instead!

Baked Pork Cops with Sugar-Free Cranberry Sauce

Ingredients:

For the Chop

  • 2, 3-4 oz boneless pork chops
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

For the Sauce

  • 1/2 cup fresh cranberries
  • 1/4 cup sweetener substitute (I used Splenda)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees
  • Rub both sides of chops with all seasonings
  • Place chops in a small to medium-sized baking dish (I used 8×8)
  • Bake at 325 for 25 minutes
  • Meanwhile, combine all ingredients for the sauce in a small pot over medium heat
  • Boil for 5-10 minutes, or until desired consistency is reached

Makes 2 servings.

Not a sweet potato in sight. What a shame!

This recipe is AWESOME! Who knew it was so easy to make good tasting sugar-free cranberry sauce? And who knew it would go so well with pork chops? Delish! Next time I will definitely pair with sweet potatoes. The mixed veggies just didn’t cut it.

Oh yeah, then I made dirt cups.

Hello little wormies!

Tomorrow is the birthday of one of the boys I babysit. I told him I would make him any dessert he wanted for his birthday, ANY! He chose dirt cups. Hey, I’m not complaining. They only took 10 minutes!

Alright, onto serious stuff. I mentioned above that no matter how busy my week may be, I always make time to cook myself healthy meals. In addition, I always squeeze in my workout for the day. Too often I hear busy people complaining about not having enough time to cook a good meal or fit in a workout. I call these excuses.

The first step towards a healthy lifestyle is acknowledging the fact that it is hard. It requires total dedication and commitment. If I was not committed to living healthy, I would be all for just grabbing McDonald’s breakfast every morning when I’m on the go, or a slice of pizza for lunch. It is definitely more convenient to NOT be healthy. However, lack of time should not be used as an excuse for lack of health. 

Let me give you a personal example. The excuse “I’m just bad at running” is one I’ve been hearing a lot lately for some reason. I’m sure I’ve used that one before. That’s because by theory, I should be bad at running. I’m short with even shorter legs. Pretty sure I look like a hamster on the treadmill. However, since I’ve been training for this 15k, I have surprised myself beyond belief. The other day I ran six miles in fifty four minutes, and felt as though I could have done it again right after. I wish my seventeen-year-old, taco bell-loving, 10-minute-mile (at best) running self could have seen that one!

I hate to be harsh, but when we write off an activity by claiming we’re bad at it, we’re really just masking our own laziness. It’s the same with making time to be healthy. If you try hard enough at anything you can make it happen. Fitting healthy habits into your life is no different.

On that note, I’m off to eat a pint of ice cream.

Kidding! It’s bedtime! I’ve got to be up in time to whip up a healthy and filling breakfast :).

