It’s official! I completed my first 15K today, ever!

Getting pumped up for our final mile!

This morning my friend Tessa and I ran the Hot Chocolate 15K in Chicago. It was my first 15K experience, and it was a good one! I hadn’t trained very hard prior to the race. The longest run I did was seven miles more than two weeks ago. However, the nine plus miles were much easier than expected.

The morning began at 5:00 a.m. I had difficulty sleeping last night due to my excitement and anticipation. Tessa and I had about an hour wait at the start line before our corral was released. This was actually the most painful part of the whole experience! Waiting in 35 degree weather at 7:00 a.m. is not my idea of a good time.

Luckily, the rest of the experience was great. My pandora wasn’t working for the first four miles, and Tessa’s iPod was broken for the last five, but we made it! Both of us couldn’t believe how good we felt the whole time. Our final time was 1:30:00, but I feel like we could have pushed it a little more! Either way, I’m happy we finished feeling good.

Another plus was I had my Mom and Mike there to cheer us on!

 

 

The post-race finisher’s cup was filled with chocolate goodies including hot chocolate (duh), a chocolate bar, and chocolate fondue with marshmallows, bananas, and rice krispies for dipping! YUM!

Tessa and I with our finisher’s mugs!

After the race, my mom, my brother, Mike and myself went out for a nice brunch. I treated myself to a giant multi-grain waffle topped with fresh fruit, nuts and maple syrup served with a side of egg whites!

Oh, what a day. It was great to see my mom and brother this weekend. I can’t wait to get some home time in around Thanksgiving. This whole 15K thing has really opened my mind to the possibility of running future races. I’m going to look into some half marathons for the spring in Chicago.

Time for an early bed time!

