I have a little treat to share on this rainy November day!

Think it looks strange and gross? Think again. I make my signature protein “cakes” a few times a week. Lately, I’ve been making a little pumpkin pie version. I was planning on sharing that recipe today, only to discover that I am completely out of canned pumpkin! Such a travesty, right? So, I improvised. This banana cake is low carb, high protein, sugar free, and takes about 2 minutes to make, including prep time!

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 4 tbs liquid egg whites, or about 1 1/2 egg whites
  • 1 tbs fat free plain greek yogurt
  • 1 tbs sugar free banana pudding mix (just the powder)
  • pinch of splenda and cinnamon

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a shallow bowl and microwave for one minute. If you have a high powered microwave, the time may be a bit less. Just keep an eye on it. The cake will start to rise after about 30 seconds. Be careful not to overcook, or it will become dry and chewy. A little moisture is good!

And that’s it!

yummy yummy

It’s delicious as is, but I topped mine with a dollop of light cool whip.

See the runnyness? It tasted like banana cream…mmmmm

Next up, I’m going to try it out with pistachio pudding mix. Or butterscotch? Oh, the possibilities!

Today’s Workout

I had such a great workout experience this morning. I’m currently doing a three week plan that involves a lot of intervals. Saturdays are usually the only days I have to really take my time with my workouts, so I took advantage of the opportunity this morning.

I began with a run down to the lake. Once I hit 2.5 miles I stopped and completed the following circuit:

  • 25 squats
  • 25 squat pulses
  • 20 lunges (each side)
  • 40 calf raises
  • 20 fire hydrants (each leg)
  • 20 hamstring curls (each leg, on all fours)
  • 20 kickbacks

(repeat 2x)

After my circuits, I hit the pavement and completed the 2.5 mile run back to my apartment! It felt so nice to be outside this morning. It’s in the sixties in Chicago today, which is abnormally warm for November. Being outside really motivated me. I was shocked to see my average pace was around 7:30 per mile during my runs both to and from the lake. Wowie!

The rest of the day is going to include a ton of cleaning, and then dancing at the DePaul Women’s basketball game tonight! Go Blue Demons! Mike and I are doing date night tomorrow night, so hopefully I’ll have some indulgent food photos to post on here.

