Greetings!

On this evening I am glad to present a holiday classic: Sugar Cookies!

christmassugarcookie.jpg

 

I followed a new recipe this year for my sugar cookies that can be found here. My recipe was slightly less precise due to the fact that I do not have a stand mixer, and have to settle for my handy dandy hand mixer. I also did not measure the thickness of my cookies in such a precise manner. Nevertheless, these cookies came out perfect!

Ingredients:

Yield: About 3 dozen cookies

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Mix flour and baking powder in medium bowl.
  • Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy (hand mixers will work just fine!)
  • Add egg and vanilla to butter mixture. Mix for another minute.
  • Slowly add flour mixture.
  • Mix until well combined.
  • Take dough out of bowl and knead a few times on a flat surface, covered with parchment paper.
  • Put dough in a large plastic ziplock bag and refrigerate for at least two hours.
  • Preheat oven to 350 just before it is time to remove the dough from the refrigerator.
  • Roll out about half the dough on a lightly floured flat surface. Cover dough with a piece of parchment paper to prevent it from sticking to the rolling pin. (This was a new tip I just learned this year!)
  • Roll the dough until it is about 1/3 of an inch thick.
  • Using your favorite cookie cutters, cut the dough and place cookies on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper of a Silpat.
  • Bake cookies 8-10 minutes (I did 9) or until they just begin to turn golden.
  • Remove cookies from oven and let cool for about a minute before moving to a cooling rack.

IMG_1154

 

Once the cookies are completely cooled, whip up your favorite powder sugar frosting and get decorating! The frosting recipe I used this year is excellent. I found it on Annie’s Eats. I love nice and simple recipes, nothing fancy for this girl!

IMG_1165

 

After frosting the cookies, I topped them off with some simple sprinkles. Mike actually helped me out on this step which made it go by much faster.

IMG_1166

 

Look at that bad boy! I have to say these are some of the best sugar cookies I’ve had in the past couple Christmases. Thank you so much to the bloggers who helped me out with the recipes! I will definitely be recreating these later this month and may even use the same recipe for another holiday. Valentine’s cookies, perhaps?

Happy baking!

