Good evening! When I had the relatively unoriginal idea of posting 12 christmas cookie recipes on this blog, I overlooked the fact that baking and blogging both take time. Time that I rarely have. What I’m trying to say is I’m sorry I have been seriously slacking on the cookie front. However, I am pleased to bring you two delicious recipes tonight!

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies & German Chocolate Cookies!

2cookies.jpg

 

I copied the recipe for the Double Chocolate Chip Cookies out of a Christmas Cookie magazine I found lying around my house while I was home over Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, I cannot recall which particular magazine it was.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup baking cocoa
  • 2 tbls milk
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 1 cup (6 oz) semisweet chocolate chunks or chips (double if not using nuts)

Directions:

  • In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter, sugar and vanilla. Beat in egg, cocoa and milk.
  • Combine flour and baking powder, fold into creamed mixture.
  • Fold in walnuts and chocolate chips
  • Roll tablespoonfuls of dough into balls, place 2 inches apart on baking sheets lined with silpats or parchment paper.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes before transferring to wire racks.

Yield: 3 dozen

IMG_1207

IMG_1209

 

These cookies were a hit! They almost tasted like hot cocoa. I highly recommend using chocolate chunks over chips. The extra crunch they give is much more pleasing, if you ask me!

German Chocolate Cookies:

IMG_1202

 

Luckily, I CAN direct you to the source of this recipe! While searching for new holiday baking ideas, I came across these dangerous little devils . I am a huge fan of just about anything german chocolate. Cake, cookies, bars, ice cream (do they make that?)…Can’t go wrong with german chocolate anything!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sweetened, shredded coconut
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped pecans
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup salted butter, softened
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tbls light corn syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 4 ounces semisweet chocolate finely chopped, or 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

IMG_1193

 

Directions:

  • Heat oven to 350 degrees. Spread pecans and coconut on a rimmed baking sheet and toast in oven for 7-10 minutes, or until fragrant.
  • Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt, set aside.
  • Cream brown sugar and butter until fluffy. Add egg, corn syrup, vanilla and almond extract.
  • Gradually beat in flour mixture. Using a rubber spatula, fold in pecans, coconut, and chocolate.
  • Drop tablespoonfuls of dough on baking sheets lined with silpats of parchment paper a few inches apart. Pat them down slightly using a knife.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 7-10 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes before transferring to wire rack.

Yield: About 30 cookies

IMG_1196

 

Again, I absolutely loved these cookies. And so did everyone else judging by the fact that they were gone from the cookie jar in a couple days.

Happy Baking!

