Over the past few weeks I have been sidetracked by a number of things; the holidays, starting school after a 6 week break, and now…the flu. I have fallen victim to the infamous influenza virus that is currently plaguing the nation, despite my attempts to live a healthier than normal life.

I have always been a target for popular illnesses. When Pertussis AKA Whooping Cough made a comeback five years ago, I was one of the lucky ones it struck. Honestly, who gets whooping cough? My roommates often poke fun at me due to the fact that I’m so prone to getting sick. While it seems funny to some, it can be frustrating. I do my best to take care of myself by eating healthy, exercising daily, and getting a good night’s sleep. It’s confusing when I see other college students around me sleeping for 3 hours a night, eating one meal a day, and never exercising yet remaining perfectly “healthy.” I realized the only thing I don’t do is stop and relax. This seems to be the key. Never underestimate the power of relaxation. 

I learned that I had the flu on Wednesday. Since then, I have done NOTHING but lay in bed watching mindless TV and browsing Pinterest. It’s amazing how much faster you can recover from an illness when you allow your body to rest. I haven’t had a fever in over 24 hours and have a feeling I’ll be back to 100% in no time.

The best part about being stuck in bed for days is the building excitement to get back to the gym. I have a whole new workout plan that I was supposed to get going this week that will just have to wait. I used The Ultimate Female Training Guide as a template for my new workout plan.

Weeks 1-3: All exercises completed 3x, 8-12 reps

Weeks 4-8: All exercises completed 3x, 6-8 reps

Weeks 9-12: All exercises completed 3x, 4-6 reps

I also like that the exercises are spilt up by upper and lower body A & B. I plan on adding a few of my own exercises as well. As soon as this program is over I’m planning on starting my very first half marathon training plan! I’m a half marathon novice, so bring on the suggestions.

I’m off to attempt to finish some homework and hopefully take a nap. Happy Saturday!

