Good evening! I have a very good feeling that 2013 will bring much more free time for me. I can’t remember the last time I wasn’t swamped with homework and other to-dos on a Monday night. Of course the one night when I actually have time to spend on cooking dinner I already plan on having leftovers.

Don’t get me wrong, these leftovers hit the spot. Behold, Cheesy Chicken & Veggie Casserole. I make variations of this dish pretty frequently. The secret ingredient? Fat free cream cheese. Love that stuff! For this particular rendition, I combined the following ingredients:

  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite size pieces
  • 1/4 cup fat free cream cheese
  • 3 cups frozen california blend vegetables, thawed
  • 3/4 cup fat free shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 tbs shredded parmesan cheese
  • salt, pepper & garlic powder to taste

Toss all ingredients, except parmesan cheese in a large casserole dish until well combined. Sprinkle top with parmesan cheese and bake at 375 degrees for 50 minutes. I topped tonight’s dish off with some marinara sauce and extra parmesan cheese. Yummy time!

IMG_1341

I’ve been doing my best lately to not spend too much money on things I don’t need. This means no leisure shopping, no extravagant dining out, etc. Unfortunately, most of my money has been going towards necessities lately, so I haven’t even had the money to consider spending on unnecessary items. I have decided that my first unnecessary purchase of 2013 (since Sunday brunch with my dance team friends is completely necessary) is going to be some type of reward for myself.

To me, setting fitness goals is the key to staying motivated. The goal that I’m currently working on is starting my day off with my workout, instead of leaving it until 6:00 PM when I’m exhausted and the gym turns into bro city. I’m so envious of people who make early morning workouts part of their routine. It’s not that I don’t like getting up early. It’s just that I like waking up early, watching the news, eating breakfast and then starting my day. My official goal is to complete my current 10-week fitness plan under this new workout time. Of course, when a goal is met there must be a reward. I plan on rewarding myself with new, good quality workout clothes.

Now, when I say good quality I don’t mean 150 dollar yoga pants. Not saying I have anything against Lululemon Lovers, I’m just cheap. I have my eye on some Nike products:

Lovin this basic tank top. I also have a weird obsession with New Balance products.

I’m in the market for some new running shoes. Those are definitely a necessity, though. Alright, I’m off to read like a good college kid!

