As my attempt at the PBFingers Crockpot Challenge continues, I have another recipe to share with you! I found the original version of the recipe on Pinterest a few weeks ago from Skinnytaste.com. I love pretty much all the recipes I’ve tried from skinny taste, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t feel the need to tweak this one to make it my own!

IMG_1416

 

Crockpot Italian Sloppy Joes

Makes 5-6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 1.25 lb package of italian seasoned ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/3 cups petite diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 6 oz can tomato paste
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • provolone cheese for topping
  • spinach for topping

Directions:

  • Brown ground turkey in a skillet
  • Combine turkey with remaining ingredients in crockpot
  • Cook on high for 4-5 hours
  • Top with sliced provolone, spinach, or a whole wheat bun!

IMG_1414

 

I scooped about a cup of the meat mixture onto a bed of fresh spinach, and topped with with a slice of provolone cheese! Delicious! I’m sure the addition of a whole wheat bun would make this even tastier. Unfortunately, I did not have any on hand.

I really want to try some crockpot oatmeal for my next crockpot adventure, but I’ve heard some horror stories from people who have made the attempt. I might have to peruse pinterest for some ideas! Stay tuned!

