After getting done with work around 6:30 on Friday, I rushed home to prepare for Mike’s arrival! Naturally, I’d had the dinner menu planned for several days already. Mike got in around 9:00, and we kicked off the night with pumpkin cheesecake dip, a recipe I’ve wanted to try ever since I read about it on pbfingers.

IMG_1673

This dip is so delicious and simple. It’s just 5 ingredients! Canned pumpkin, low fat or fat free cream cheese, honey or any other sweetener, pumpkin pie spice, and crushed candied pecans. YUM! We used braided honey wheat pretzels and ginger cookies for dipping.

Then it was onto the main course, which was another pbfingers recipe I’ve been wanting to try for some time. Meatball Casserole.

IMG_1677

I altered the original recipe  just a hair by adding some fresh spinach to the cheese mixture, and by using low fat ricotta instead of goat cheese. It was absolutely delicious and could even be made without the baguette for a lower carb option.

IMG_1676

I kept dessert simple with some mint chocolate chip ice cream, or peppermint bon bon as Mike and I call it.

Mike also surprised me with a couple goodies he picked up in Chicago last weekend!

20131020_090952_resized

 

A Dunkin’ Donuts Mug along with their Pumpkin flavored coffee.

2013-10-20 08.04.54

 

Sadly, there are no Dunkin’ Donuts anywhere remotely close to Sioux Falls, and I find myself missing their coffee and sweet treats almost every day. Starbucks just doesn’t cut it sometimes!

I was on call Friday night, which means I am up listening to the police scanner until the wee hours of the night, so Mike and I just stayed in. Yesterday was such a blast I want to devote a whole post to recap the day. But first, I’m off for an evening run before dinner!

 

 

