Aaaah, Sundays in Fall. There’s just something about the cool weather that makes a relaxing Sunday so much more enjoyable.

Plus, Sundays in Fall are the perfect time for a pumpkiny breakfast. My Sunday kicked off on a chilly note. After quickly downing a cup of coffee and rice cake topped with peanut butter, I scooted out the door into the 30 degree weather for a 4 mile run.

2013-10-27 09.25.11

Not too shabby, but I realized my average pace on runs from 3-5 miles has increased dramatically since last year. Last Fall, I was averaging less than 8 minutes per mile on most of my runs. I really want to work on getting back to that pace over the next few months.

After my run it was time to refuel with a proper breakfast: Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

IMG_1749

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 egg beaters or egg whites
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 3 TBS oats
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • enough water to reach desired “pancake-like” consistency.

Directions:

  • Whisk all ingredients together in a medium sized bowl
  • Spray skillet with non-stick cooking spray, set to medium-high heat
  • Use 1/4 cup scoop to drop batter onto hot skillet
  • Cook 2-3 minutes each side, or until bubbles begin to form
  • Remove and top with anything you’d like!

IMG_1742

 

I topped my cakes with frozen blueberries that were heated in the microwave, PB2, and Walden Farms pancake syrup! I know I’ve posted a similar recipe for pumpkin protein pancakes before. I’m pretty sure it was slightly different from this one.

The more you make protein pancakes, the more you’re able to experiment. It’s gotten to the point where sometimes I don’t even measure out the ingredients since I’m just going for a certain batter texture that I know will work.

Autumn Fest

Shortly after breakfast I headed out for Autumn Fest, an arts & crafts fair that tours the midwest, and is currently in Sioux Falls. This is not your typical arts & crafts fair. I spent nearly 2 hours at the festival and still didn’t make it to all the vendors. I left feeling stuffed from samples, and with some good food finds.

IMG_1756 IMG_1757 IMG_1758 IMG_1761 IMG_1762 IMG_1765

 

I told the lefse vendor I was shocked to find lefse in South Dakota. That’s when she told me they actually drove down from Minnesota. Figures. Naturally, I had to buy some, though I’m planning on freezing it until Christmas rolls around.

I’m also saving those tempting meats and cheeses for next weekend to share with Mike. There were a couple non-food related items that I picked up, but most of them will be gifts and I don’t want to spoil the surprised. Mike and I have plans for a virtual date tonight. We’re going to attempt to prepare the same meal while Skyping. Things should get interesting!

 

