Happy Sunday!

Sundays are such a dream. Truly a day of rest.

I got home from work around 6:30 last night with the plan of taking an hour nap before getting ready to go out for a coworker’s birthday. Well, that one hour nap turned into a three and a half hour nap! I was so out of it when I woke up and saw it was almost 10:00 p.m. I must have completely slept through my alarm.

That three plus hour nap really threw me off, especially since I didn’t get home until around 1:30 a.m. I ended up falling asleep around 3:00 in the morning. Needless to say, waking up this morning was equally as confusing. I pulled myself out of bed around 8:30 and laced up for a 4 mile run.

2013-11-10 09.54.47

It was absolutely freezing this morning. I felt the burn in my lungs for the first time all year. The rest of the day was spent cleaning, lounging, lunching with a friend, and fitting in a quick back and ab workout.

Another thing I love about Sundays is obviously football. Unfortunately, watching football equals eating massive amounts of food in my head. But not just any food — football food. I prepared what I like to call “healthy” nachos for Sunday night football tonight.

IMG_1824

Healthy Nachos:

Ingredients:

  • 1 flatout flatbread, any flavor
  • 2.5 oz ground turkey, cooked and seasoned with taco seasoning
  • 1/2 cup fat free or low fat shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2-4 TBS salsa
  • 2 TBS nonfat plain greek yogurt or light sour cream

Directions:

  • preheat oven to 400 degrees fahrenheit
  • cut flatout into tortilla chip sized pieces
  • lay out on lightly greased baking sheet

IMG_1817

  • bake flatout for 8-10 minutes, or until pieces become crispy

IMG_1819

  • Transfer “chips” to plate and top with ground turkey and cheese
  • microwave for 30-40 seconds to melt cheese
  • top with salsa, greek yogurt, and anything else!

IMG_1821

I definitely wish I had some jalapenos or other peppers to top my nachos with. Overall, they were delicious and ten times healthier than nachos you’d find at a sports bar.

I also conducted a little baking experiment tonight that I plan on sharing tomorrow! It’s festive, and protein packed. Now I’m off to watch some more Sunday night football and relax.

