When is it too cold to run outside?

Is it when it looks like this?

2013-10-30 10.36.36

Or when snow boots are the only acceptable shoes to wear outside?

2013-11-06 09.05.59

I’m sure everyone has different guidelines they follow for when it’s just too cold for an outdoor run. I actually prefer colder weather anywhere from 30-45 degrees. However, when it drops well below freezing and the wind starts picking up, I get a little hesitant.

I usually use my days off to fit some long runs into my week. Yesterday was actually one of the warmest days we’ve had in a while in Sioux Falls. When I woke up around 7:30, it really didn’t look too daunting out there.

2013-11-24 10.12.42

But when the weather reads 20 degrees and feels like 11, I just can’t. I really want to find a way to run outside during the winter. At this point I just don’t have the right equipment. My shoes are terrible, and I know I’d fall on my face the second I hit ice. I’ve also been meaning to invest in a good winter running jacket. Looks like outdoor runs will be put on hold until then!

Loving “ProYo”

Or as I like to call them, yogurt bowls.

2013-10-26 13.34.43

This is actually a proyo concoction I brought to work for lunch one day. If you search “proyo” on Instgram, you’ll find some of the most delicious looking renditions of this protein-packed sweet treat. Lately, I’ve been making meal-sized versions for breakfast, lunch, and sometimes dinner.

Although yesterday’s weather didn’t exactly put me in the mood for a cold meal, I couldn’t get proyo out of my head, and decided to put together a Pumpkin ProYo bowl for lunch

Pumpkin ProYo

Ingredints:

  • 8 oz plain, nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • splash of any type of milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp splenda or stevia
  • fruit, nuts, cereal or anything for toppings

Directions:

  • Combine all ingredients except toppings in a medium bowl.
  • Cover with saran wrap or a lid and freeze for 1 hour, stirring half way through so it does not completely freeze.
  • Top with anything you’d like!

I chose to top my proyo with some Special K blondie bites, chocolate fiber one cereal, and frozen blueberries.

2013-11-24 13.10.33

2013-11-24 13.11.00

SOOOO delicious. A snack-size version is great for an easy dessert, too. I’m trying to pack as much pumpkin as I can in these last few days before pumpkin season is officially over and it’s all peppermint until Christmas.

I actually had a pumpkin-themed breakfast this morning that I hope to share on here later! Now, it’s off to the gym for a leg workout. Yikes!

