I feel like I have a spring back in my step, and it definitely has something to do with the spring-like weather in South Dakota.

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 6.14.40 PM

 

This might look a little pathetic to some, but after months of sub-zero temperatures and 70 mph wind gusts, this is a treat.

It just so happens that I had work off on this beautiful day. I took advantage of it by going for an outdoor run for the first time in more than three months.

2014-02-18 14.40.56 2014-02-18 14.41.18

 

Just look at that snow melting! Since I’ve taken some time off from longer runs, I was a little rusty. I made the mistake of running only an hour after eating a pretty big lunch. Normally, I’ll run first thing in the morning on just a cup of coffee or a piece of toast. If a morning run isn’t an option, I’ll wait until hours after I eat to make sure everything is digested. I cramp up very easily if there’s a decent amount of food in my system, and unfortunately, that was the case today. The issue slowed my pace pretty significantly.

2014-02-18 14.44.01

 

Not my best! But it felt great to be back outside. I can’t wait to start training for the Minneapolis Half Marathon in a few weeks. Now, in celebration of my first outdoor run of 2014, I’m off to enjoy leftover turkey lasagna!

