It’s a snowy day in Sioux Falls. Hopefully it’s the last major snow of the season. Okay, that might be pushing it.

Mondays are my typical days off, so I started the day off pretty slow. I took my time eating breakfast and eventually made it down to the gym for a bicep+chest workout and some cardio.

I typically gravitate toward weight-bearing exercise and classic cardio such as running, elliptical, or biking. I’m envious of those who feel satisfied from light weight circuit workouts and especially, yoga. It’s not that I don’t feel like I’ve worked out after these types of exercises, they just don’t hold my attention the same way lifting heavier weights does.

It’s been a very lazy day for me, but I felt a burst of energy around 6:00 tonight. I didn’t feel like a run or any high-intensity exercise, so I got the idea to search Amazon Prime for a yoga workout that I could do in my apartment. I ended up stumbling upon Jillian Michaels: Yoga Meltdown workout.

IMG_1901

 

Another type of workout I’ve never been a fan of is one that you have to watch on a screen. However, I actually really enjoyed this one. Seeing that it was by Jillian Michaels, I had a feeling it would be somewhat challenging. I busted out my yoga mat that I’ve used a grand total of about two times and got to it!

IMG_1898

 

The workout included variations of poses that ranged from beginner through advanced. It was more fast-paced than some yoga classes I’ve taken, and I was able to get my heart rate going. It only lasted about 40 minutes, which was perfect for what I was looking for. I even set the mood by lighting a couple candles!

IMG_1906

 

Cheesy? Possibly. But it helps me get in the zone. There’s a second portion in the same episode that I’m planning on doing later this week. I was shocked by how many different yoga workouts and other workouts were available on Amazon Prime. If you have it, I recommend checking some of them out!

Now, I’m off to enjoy some left over pork tenderloin from last night.

