Happy Friday!

Did you guys know today is National Cereal Day? I was debating whether to have cereal or toast for breakfast this morning, but when I heard about the special day, the decision was clear.

IMG_1934

Multigrain Cheerios and strawberries with a side of egg whites smothered in Sriracha.

IMG_1935

The weekend is officially here (unless you have my work schedule) which means time for a break from the gym. This was my last week working out before I start my half marathon training on Monday, and I really wanted to finish it on a high note.

Here’s what the week looked like:

Sunday: Back, Abs, 2 miles HIIT on treadmill

Monday: Legs, 20 minutes elliptical

Tuesday: Shoulders, Abs, 15 minutes HIIT treadmill

Wednesday: Combination of cardio and lots of foam rolling

Here’s what my cardio looked like:

Untitled

Plus a warm up of 10 minutes of the elliptical. I followed up the workout with some serious muscle massaging.

20140305_074223

After Monday’s leg workout, my hamstrings were a mess. Even Icy hot just wasn’t doing the trick. I decided to take things easy with my cardio on Wednesday, and spent about 20 minutes with my Tiger Tail trying to work out the kinks in my hamstrings.

20140305_07440920140305_074306

That little guy helped me out big time. Unfortunately, the small gym at my apartment complex doesn’t have a real foam roller, but the Tiger Tail works well enough for me!

Back to the workouts:

Thursday: Biceps, Triceps, Chest, 20 minutes elliptical

Friday: Legs, 20 minutes elliptical

Even though the tight hamstring situation threw me for a loop midweek, I feel really good looking back on my workouts from this week. Definitely put me in the right mindset for jumping into half marathon training. I’m actually excited for my first run on Monday. Here we go!

