I don’t normally have time to blog in the morning, but I’m a lucky girl today and don’t have to head into work until noon! Great start to Friday.

I took my time waking up this morning with a 3 mile run on the agenda for my half marathon training. Since I had the extra time, I decided to properly fuel my body with a little snack before hitting the trail.

IMG_1946

Rice cake topped with PB2 and craisins. Accompanied by a cup of hazelnut coffee.

IMG_1947

 

Normally I don’t eat anything before my morning workouts, because time is so limited and I need at least 45 minutes to digest anything before exercising or I’ll cramp up instantly. I don’t like feeling like I’m depriving myself in the morning, especially before a run. The second my stomach starts grumbling in the middle of a workout I just lose all motivation and energy, and start wanting to eat my hand. I was very excited about getting to put something in my stomach before my run this morning.

It’s amazing how much more I enjoy running outside than on the treadmill. It was still a chilly 35 degrees when I left my apartment, but the run seemed to fly by.

20140314_084940-1

 

I’ve managed to take about 20 seconds off my average 3 mile run pace over the past week. Hopefully that trend continues because I’ve really become a slow poke.

I followed up the run with a good long stretching session and a strawberry banana spinach protein smoothie.

IMG_1950

 

I figured I’d get a little festive with St. Patrick’s day weekend on the horizon. I threw the following into the blender for this concoction:

  • 1 frozen banana, peeled
  • 5 frozen strawberries
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 5.3 oz container Dannon Greek Light n’ Fit strawberry yogurt
  • 1/3 cup chopped frozen spinach
  • about 1/2 cup water
  • handful of ice cubes

IMG_1952

 

Can’t go wrong with a post-run smoothie! Too bad now I’m freezing which means it’s time for another hot cup of coffee before I have to get ready for work! I’m super excited for this weekend. Mike is heading here tonight, and tomorrow is my co-worker’s birthday celebration. We have plans to go to a hibachi grill, something I haven’t done since high school. I’m ready to feast!