First of all, it’s cold Starbuck’s drink weather in Sioux Falls.

Iced green tea

Iced green tea

It’s also sunroof season. For now at least.

Let’s back up. I wasn’t feeling so hot this morning after a fun night out last night. I would have loved to go for a run in the 60 degree weather with no wind, but I knew it wouldn’t end pretty if I did too much moving today.

Breakfast:

This morning I wanted one thing and one thing only; oats.

IMG_1985

Oats with flax, vanilla protein powder, PB2, banana, craisins, and Kashi cereal.

Then I fell asleep for another two hours…yikes.

Lunch:

After moping around my apartment and drinking about half my body weight in water, I still wasn’t feeling the best. Perhaps a nice cold smoothie would do the trick?

IMG_1991

IMG_2001

Scoop of chocolate protein powder, 1/2 frozen banana, frozen strawberries, cocoa powder, spinach, 1 TBS peanut butter, greek yogurt, water and ice cubes.

By this point I knew a run wasn’t in the cards today. But I felt like I could muster enough strength to get a little shopping done. I headed to the grocery store to pick up my weekly essentials and some more shopping fuel.

blog2

 

Old standby.

Shopping was a hit. TJ Maxx just got a bunch of new stuff in and Express had 30% off clearance. Today I learned short people like me really can pull off maxi dresses! Now if it would just stay warm enough to wear one.

While browsing the racks, I had a weird craving for a mexican style burger. Weird? I decided that’s what I would be making for dinner, and sweet potato fries sounded like a fitting side. So, I bring you a homemade sweet potato fries recipe!

Sweet Potato Fries:

IMG_2005

Directions:

  • Slice sweet potato into about 1/4 inch strips
  • Spread evenly on baking sheet
  • Drizzle with 1-2 TBS olive oil, sprinkle with salt, pepper, cayenne, or any other spices
  • Bake at 450 degrees for 20 minutes, flipping half way through

And that’s it!

IMG_2011

IMG_2014

Alongside my mexican burger topped with jack cheese, guac, plain greek yogurt, salsa, peppers and onion.

IMG_2016

I’m so happy I had this craving. It really hit the spot. Brought me back to my sophomore year of college when I worked at a diner and ate “mexican burgers” at least twice a week.

I’m still feeling pretty sluggish and am bummed I wasn’t able to get a workout in today. Tomorrow I have a timed  5k on the agenda and a lower body workout as well. I’m hoping to get the 5k done in less than 24 minutes, but we shall see!

 

 

