Good Evening!

As I said earlier, a 7 mile run was on my agenda today as part of my half marathon training. The weather was my favorite for running. About 40-45 degrees, partly sunny, nice breeze. I did an out and back run along the bike path in Sioux Falls. It was honestly an ideal run, but I still feel like I could have pushed myself a little harder. Here were my finishing stats:

20140407_111227

It would be awesome if I could keep this pace during my race. Fingers crossed! After my run I spent some time stretching outside on this beautiful spring day, and headed inside to refuel with a smoothie bowl.

Outdoor stretch

Outdoor stretch

Giant smoothie bowl

Giant smoothie bowl

Into the smoothie went:

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • frozen strawberries
  • scoop of plain greek yogurt
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • frozen kale
  • fresh spinach
  • almond milk
  • ice cubes
  • topped with kashi

I felt very accomplished after my run. I know it was only 7 miles and I have a long way to go before my half marathon. But knowing that I can run half of a half marathon easily makes me feel much better about going the rest of the distance! Gotta stay positive.

Meal Prep:

Tomorrow is going to be a crazy long day for me. I will be spending the first half of my day covering a court case, and the second half working on the Sioux Falls municipal election. I’m looking at a 14 hour day, roughly. Yikes! I made sure to pack most of my meals since I don’t know when or if I’ll get a break at any point.

Lunch, Dinner, Snacks.

IMG_2037

Tuesday meal prep

This is usually what my daily meal prep looks like, minus dinner. Apart from breakfast at home, here’s the menu:

  • large apple for mid-morning snack
  • turkey and cheddar sandwich with veggies and string cheese for lunch
  • quest bar for snack
  • pulled pork with beans and quinoa for dinner

I’m sure I’ll need a late night snack by the time I get home. I also have plans to bake some sugar cookies tonight to bring into work. I have a feeling one of those will also sneak into my lunch bag!

Off to get baking!

