When it comes to sweets, there are a few things I cannot turn down: oatmeal raisin cookies, dark chocolate, and banana flavored candy. I love ice cream, but I can usually control myself around it.

Well, this weekend was full of ice cream treats and I’m very happy I didn’t turn them down.

Weekend Recap:

Mike was here this weekend and finally there was nice weather in Sioux Falls. But first, the ice cream.

20140405_131357

Chocolate frozen custard topped with reeses at Culvers

Cherry Berry frozen yogurt

Cherry Berry frozen yogurt

The frozen yogurt came after our dinner Saturday night. I chose rice krispie flavor, vanilla, and candy bar topped with brownie chunks, fruit, and a random frog that Mike threw on top of mine. Thanks.

Dinner at Grille 26:

I didn’t make it home from work until around 7:00 Saturday night, so I quickly changed and got ready to head out for a late-ish dinner at Grille 26 in Sioux Falls. I’ve been wanting to try the restaurant ever since I moved here in August and am very happy I finally did.

Grille 26 is my kind of place; not too fancy, but very nice atmosphere, food and service. They had a really good cocktail menu, so we started out with a couple drinks. I went with a “rosemary cooler” with lemonade, cucumber, fresh rosemary, and Smirnoff. It was nice and refreshing. Mike went with the “northern lights” cocktail with Yukon Jack Jacapple, cranberry and lime. Also very good!

Drinky Poos

Drinky Poos

Next we placed an order for the spinach and artichoke dip to start.

G26 Spinach & Artichoke Dip

G26 Spinach & Artichoke Dip

They could have just served the bread and I would have been happy. That stuff was so dang good. The drinks and appetizers were great, but my entree was the real winner. I went with a brick oven salmon on top of two mushroom risotto cakes with roasted mushrooms and spinach.

Brick Oven Salmon

Brick Oven Salmon

With the risotto cakes out

With the risotto cakes out

I’m all about textures, and the crispy crust on those risotto cakes was perfect. As soon as I saw meatloaf on the menu I knew Mike was sold.

The Loaf

The Loaf

His was also great. I’m usually more of a ketchup person when it comes to meatloaf, but the gravy actually went well with it.

We both cleaned our plates as usual, and headed out for froyo! We had plans to spend the rest of the night out on the town, but as soon as the sugar from the frozen yogurt got to us we were done, and passed out on my couch before 11:00. Real party animals. Mike left yesterday, so today is my day to get all the things done for the week. That includes a 7 mile run today. I’ll be heading out shortly and am excited to share how it went later today!

 

