Since I moved to Sioux Falls, all my visitors have consisted of family members and Mike. This weekend one of my best friends from high school tagged along with Mike for a wild weekend in Sioux Falls!

It wasn’t really too wild, but it was a blast. Friday night we just stayed in and relaxed since I had to work the next morning. On Saturday they got to follow me around on the job and see just how glamorous TV life really is. HA!

IMG_6774

 

 

For lunch, my friend Carly said she was feelin tacos. I remembered recently hearing about a new more authentic Mexican food restaurant in Sioux Falls, so we checked it out. Let’s just say this will not be my last trip to El Jalapeno.

chicken, chorizo, and pork tacos

chicken, chorizo, and pork tacos

I loved that they had so many different types of meat options. The chorizo was my favorite and the chicken was a close second.

After working through the rest of the work day, I headed back to my apartment to get ready for a night on the town!

2014-05-04 20.12.21

We headed to Crawford’s, a pretty swanky little spot in downtown Sioux Falls. The wait to be seated was 45 minutes, so we chose to sit at the bar where we could still enjoy the full menu. The three of us decided to split three appetizers: chicken florentine flatbread, walleye fingers, and spinach & artichoke dip.

The spread

The spread

walleye fingers

walleye fingers

spinach & artichoke dip

spinach & artichoke dip

chicken florentine flatbread

chicken florentine flatbread

All the apps were on point, but I’d have to say the spinach and artichoke dip was my favorite. I also liked that it was served with cauliflower for dipping, not just pita bread.

The night continued at a bar just next to my apartment building with a few co-workers. For some strange reason I had my heart set on walking to a a nearby gas station for snacks at 2:00 a.m.? Bad idea.

After I whipped up some bomb sweet potato hash this morning (forgot to snap a pic), we headed out to see the sights.

Falls Park

Falls Park

somehow this is the only photo of Mike and I all weekend

somehow this is the only photo of Mike and I all weekend

It was a chilly day in the Sioux Empire, but a good one. I was very sad to see Mike and Carly leave this evening, but am glad I’m heading home to Minneapolis next weekend already and will see them soon!

