It was a gorgeous day in Sioux Falls! That never seems to happen on my days off. It was sunny with barely any wind, perfect for my morning run!

I headed out for a 9 mile run this morning after my typical pre-long run snack of toast with peanut butter and banana.  This was the first run of my half marathon training that I really felt seriously fatigued toward the end.

20140505_104841

Not too proud of that time. I’d like to keep my pace right at or below 9 minutes/mile. I think the weekend of partying it up and eating some not so healthy treats did a number on my body.

Despite not being thrilled after the run, I was proud that I made it through. It means I’m one step closer to race day! Can’t wait for the adrenaline!

After my run I dug into my very first overnight oats ever! I prepped the oats last night using 1/2 cup oats, 5 oz plain greek yogurt, 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder. I let the oats soak and thicken overnight before topping them with blueberries, strawberries, cinnamon and PB2 this morning.

overnight oats

overnight oats

Sorry about the crappy phone picture. I’ve been avoiding charging my camera for the past two weeks.

oats up close

oats up close

I am officially a fan of overnight oats, especially after a sweaty run or workout. I think next time I’ll add a little less milk to get them extra chewy. The oats fueled me for a day of searching for a Mother’s Day present before sitting out to enjoy the beautiful day.

65 and sunny

65 and sunny

Call me crazy, but 65 and sunny is good enough for me. I know soon it will be 90 and humid and I won’t be able to take it. I’m taking advantage of the nice mild weather while I can. It was so relaxing I actually fell asleep for about 30 minutes…embarrassing.

Now I’m about have way into Frozen. I needed to see what all the hoopla was about surrounding this movie. So far, so good!

