Happy weekend!

I technically still have a day to go before I can start celebrating, but what the heck. I had a blast at work today. I did a story on opening fishing weekend in Minnesota, and this is what my “office” looked like for the day:

Lake Shetek, MN

Lake Shetek, MN

I didn’t want to leave. Days like these I just really love my job.

Back up. Last night I made some amazing ‘healthy’ nachos while watching the NFL draft, because in my eyes you can’t watch anything football-related without football food.

'healthy' nachos

‘healthy’ nachos

To make these nachos, I toasted a Flatout flatbread in the oven at 400 degrees for about 4 minutes on each side. I then broke it into chips and topped with seasoned ground turkey, red and green bell peppers, diced tomatoes, shredded cheddar, salsa, and plain nonfat greek yogurt in place of sour cream. Hit the spot!

I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again; Flatouts rule. You can do so much with them, they’re healthy, and they taste good! I often make quesadillas, pizzas, or just plain old wraps with Flatouts. I highly recommend giving them a try.

I had planned on getting a 5 mile run in this morning, but things changed when I was woken up by the 30 mph winds all night! It is psycho windy in South Dakota. All the time. I just can’t handle running in crazy wind, so I decided to postpone my run until after work. Luckily the wind died down a bit by then.

5 miles at 1/2 marathon pace

5 miles at 1/2 marathon pace

The last few weeks of my training really focus on running at pace. I’m hoping to stay right around 9:00/ mile or just under during my half marathon. My run was nice and easy, but the running path I take is along a creek and the bugs were just thick down there tonight. I have a feeling it’s only going to get worse as the weather gets warmer. I had to hold my breath several times to make sure I didn’t swallow any gnats. Lovely.

I’m heading home to Minneapolis for Mother’s Day tomorrow night which I am very excited about! I am not excited about the fact that I have to work at 7:30 a.m. tomorrow. I’m off to pack for the weekend, as I will be leaving straight from work tomorrow.