Greetings!

The title of this post is a very serious issue for me. I’ve never been able to run immediately after eating a full meal, or even shortly after. I typically have to wait at least an hour and a half after eating before heading out for a run, and that’s if the meal was small.

Since I began this most recent half marathon training I’ve also learned that I can’t run after a full day of eating, even if the last meal or snack was several hours before.

Last night it really sunk in.

20140516_201423

This was the result of what was supposed to be a 5 mile run. I was slow, sluggish and cramped up the entire time. Absolutely terrible. I cut it short when I realized things just weren’t getting any better.

This is why I typically run in the morning, which I would have done yesterday if it wasn’t 25 degrees when I woke up. Yikes!

A typical pre-run snack is a piece of toast with peanut butter and banana, or something with a similar carb to protein to fat ratio.

Chocolate PB + Banana toast

Chocolate PB + Banana toast

If I’m running less than 5 miles I typically don’t eat anything before, maybe just a cup of coffee or a handful of cereal. I now realize this is just what I’m going to have to stick to.

On the bright side, I do not have a problem eating large amounts of food after a run. So that’s exactly what I did on Monday after my 10 mile run.

20140512_103238

 

This run was great. I’ve never felt so good about a long run, but this one was really a blast. It definitely helped that I was in Minneapolis last weekend and had excellent scenery.

20140512_104025

20140512_104051

And it was my favorite type of running weather. About 60 degrees and overcast. After my run, I picked up this little guy at Whole Foods:

20140512_111333

It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great. I wanted something light since I had plans to get lunch with my friend Carly. We went to a place called Barbette and I ordered a quiche with asparagus, mushrooms, onions and chevre cheese. Forgot to snap a pic. Whoops! I did not forget a picture of dessert, though.

PB + Sriracha

PB + Sriracha

If you live in the Minneapolis area, check out Glam Doll Donuts. This place rules. I ordered the peanut butter and sriracha donut and it lived up to my expectations. They always have funky combinations along with classics.

K now I want a donut.

Moral of the story: I can’t run after eating. I’d like to know who can. Is it an ability that runners build over time? Will I eventually stop cramping up if I just keep pushing through it?

I have an 11 mile run planned for this Monday. Stay tuned!

 

