Happy Memorial Day!

Having Monday as my typical day off is always nice when if falls on a holiday. Some of my coworkers and I had plans to get together by the pool at my apartment building and maybe grill some hotdogs today, but rain is ruining those plans.

Despite the gloomy weather, I accomplished my final long run of my half marathon training this morning!

20140526_112437

AHHHH!! It was a rough one. But I did it.

I was just not feeling like a run this morning. I was doing alright for the first 5 miles or so, but cramped up really bad after eating a couple PowerBar Energy Blasts around mile 7 and the run just went downhill from there.

I had the energy blasts during my 11 mile run last week and felt like they really helped. Not sure what happened this time. It was also warmer than I like in the mid 70s, and I felt dehydrated towards the end. Ugh.

Even so, at this crappy pace I would still finish the half marathon in just under two hours, which is my goal.

I wanted to collapse on the floor when I got home, but decided to stretch and take and ice bath before diving into a yogurt bowl I prepared before the run.

yogurt bowl

yogurt bowl

Yes, I really needed that Oreo on top. I used plain nonfat greek yogurt, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder, about 2 TBS oats, chopped strawberries, blackberries, and the Oreo. Solid post-run meal. Oh, and I chugged about 3 glasses of water.

Backing up.

I want to share a protein pancake recipe that I made for breakfast yesterday. I make protein pancakes so often I really don’t even pay attention to what I’m doing anymore and just kind of throw stuff together. However, this batch had a texture that was so close to real pancakes that I just have to share it.

Oatmeal & Cottage Cheese Protein Pancakes

oatmeal protein pancakes

protein pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup low fat cottage cheese
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1 1/2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • berries, PB, syrup for topping

Directions:

  • combine all ingredients (expect toppings) into blender
  • blend until well combined, should reach batter-like consistency
  • heat medium skillet to medium-high heat, spray with nonstick cooking spray
  • scoop about half of batter into skillet, cook 2 minutes each side.
  • repeat with other half of batter
  • top with anything you’d like!
close up cakes

close up cakes

Sometimes it’s just all about getting that perfect texture, and these cakes have it. I topped mine with strawberries, banana, and some PB2.

You can easily switch things up in this recipe. Regular milk in place of almond milk, or whole eggs instead of egg whites. Part of the fun I think is experimenting and making a recipe your own.

Anyway, I have some extreme meal prep on the agenda for today until the weather clears up! Okay, not really extreme meal prep. It’s probably pretty wimpy compared to a lot of people. But, fruit salad is on the menu for the week again which is very exciting.

 

