Good Morning!

We’re two days away from race day people! Nerves are setting in!

I completed a 2 mile run last night and am debating whether or not to do an easy 3 miles tomorrow morning. I really want to get one more run in, but will not have any time today as I am driving to Minneapolis straight from work.

Let’s jump into the second installment of Friday Favorites: a collection of random things I’ve been diggin’ lately.

Friday Favorites:

1. Baking

Okay, so this is not a recent occurrence. I always love baking, but I’ve been on a hiatus since Easter which is a long time for me. Mike’s birthday is this weekend, so I had an excuse to make the best cake on earth: Oreo cake!

IMG_2089

This is seriously one of the most amazing cakes ever. I made the same one last year following this recipe, and made the addition of little cookie dough balls in the cream filling this year. Hopefully it’s a hit!

2. Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter

IMG_2094

This is also not really a recent development. Peanut Butter & Co. has some awesome flavored nut butters, but this one is close to the top of the list. I’m not normally a chocolate in the morning kind of person, but this peanut butter isn’t terribly sweet and has a nice cocoa taste. I actually have two jars in my cupboard right now and have been putting it on a bagel thin or english muffin pretty much every morning this week. So good!

3. Quest Bar Lemon Cream Pie 

IMG_2096

I absolutely love Quest bars, but unfortunately, I can’t afford to buy them all the time. I recently discovered the lemon cream pie flavor and it may have taken the place of banana nut muffin as my favorite. It seriously tastes like a lemon poppyseed muffin. If you’ve never tried Quest bars, you should check them out. They’re all natural, packed with protein, fiber, and actually taste good.

4. HIIT Cardio

This might sound stupid, but I really miss HIIT cardio. I have gotten so bored with steady state cardio and running throughout my half marathon training. Last night I decided to turn my scheduled 2 mile run into an interval run by going 1 minute at a slower pace, and 1 minute at a faster pace and just the slight variation felt so good. I really miss sprinting. I feel like it makes the time pass much quicker for some reason. Definitely looking forward to fitting more HIIT into my workouts after Sunday’s half marathon!

 

Alright folks, that’s all we got. Sorry this was so food-centered, but I do like talking about food. Next time I post will most likely be after the half-marathon! Scary!

