I was so ready to run the Minneapolis Half Marathon this morning.

race ready

race ready

I got an email this morning as Mike and I were heading out for the race, informing me that it had been delayed an hour due to thunderstorms and lightning. Mike and I sat in his car near the beginning of the race for over an hour before I eventually made my way to the start line at around 7:30 with the rest of the runners. The rain was clearing up, and I was feeling good and ready. I found my pace group, and my adrenaline was really rushing. About five minutes later I started seeing people running away from the starting line. Slowly, the word began to spread through the 6,000 runners that the race had been cancelled. 

Cancelled?! It was barely raining. There was no official announcement right away, but it was pretty clear that the race was off.

Image 5

Image 6

I ran a couple miles to blow off some steam as I waited for Mike to come back to pick me up, but it wasn’t enough to get over my disappointment. I couldn’t help but think about all the runners who trained for months, some preparing for their first marathon ever. What a let down.

It was disappointing that the race was cancelled, but what was worse was the way it was handled. The organizers had promised updates on the status of the race through email and Facebook. That never happened. There was no official word that the race was actually cancelled until about an hour after it was supposed to start.

The reason they gave was dangerous weather, but it didn’t rain a drop after it was cancelled, and apparently the course was in fine shape. I still got all the race gear, but none of the pride that comes from crossing the finish line.

Image 2

 

This is pretty much how I’m feeling right now:

Image 19

This is Ella! The only thing she has to be sad about is that it’s not a sunny day and she isn’t running around outside.

I wasn’t sure how this race was going to go, but I definitely was not expecting it to be cancelled. I feel a little deflated and unmotivated. I have another half marathon coming on in September that will hopefully help me get over this unfortunate situation!

