Good evening or good early morning!

It’s still Friday on the west coast, so we’re going to let my ‘Friday Favorites’ tardiness slide.

Dinner

First off, I got home from work around 10:00 tonight and was craving pizza and breakfast. I was really struggling to decide which one I wanted most, so I decided to combine them to make a breakfast pizza!

breakfast pizza

breakfast pizza

This little creation hit the spot. I topped a toasted Flatout Flatbread with 3 cooked egg whites, 2 slices turkey bacon, chopped red bell pepper, spinach, cheddar and mozzarella cheese, and popped it in the oven for about 6 minutes at 400 degrees. Oh! I also used Sriracha as the ‘sauce’ for the pizza. Good call.

Like I said in my last post, this week has been nuts. Which brings me to my list of Friday Favorites!

Friday Favorites 

Five tornadoes touched down in South Dakota on Wednesday night, and one really tore up a small town in the central part of the state. I’ve been covering the damage out there for the past two days. The experience has been absolutely unreal and it’s something I’ll never forget. That brings me to my first ‘favorite’:

1. South Dakota Weather 

Image 7

Image 8

 

I know this shouldn’t be a ‘favorite’, but let me explain. As a reporter, there’s really nothing like covering natural disasters. This week has been full of floods, thunderstorms, and tornadoes. Thankfully, there have been no serious injuries and things are starting to slowly get better throughout the state. Covering all these storms has been exhausting, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything right now.

2. Overnight Oats

overnight oats

overnight oats

Like I said, this week has been crazy. I haven’t been getting much sleep, and getting adequate nutrition has also been a struggle. It’s times like these that overnight oats really come in handy! I’ve been preparing overnight oats the night before I know I have to wake up early for a story. This morning I was up at 4:30 a.m. to head out to cover tornado damage. I knew there was no way I would feel like cooking breakfast that early, so I whipped up a batch of overnight oats last night! This bowl was made with 1 container Dannon Greek Light and Fit blueberry yogurt, 1/3 cup raw oats, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1 tbs ground flax, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder, plus banana, blueberries, and Kashi cereal for toppings.

3. Boom Chicka Pop Caramel & Cheddar Mix

BOOM CHICKA POP!

BOOM CHICKA POP!

This popcorn is TOO good. I’ve been getting home reeeeal late these past few days, and have been digging into this bag each night for a little pick me up. This mix is my absolute favorite. I’m a big fan of the sweet and savory combo when it comes to food. The cheddar with the caramel is the perfect pairing if you’re a sweet + salty person. Just be careful once you open a bag of this stuff because it’s tough to stop stuffing your face.

4. True Blood Final Season 

trueblood

I True Blood still cool? I don’t care either way. I’ve watched this show since season 1, and have been a fan through and through. I can’t believe the final season starts this Sunday! I plan on spending my Saturday night re-watching the previous season to jog my memory. I’m not a big vampire person, but I love the way True Blood fits real world social issues into the show. I’ll be sad to see it go!

That’s all! I need to get some sleep. I’m heading back to tornado town bright and early in the morning!

