Big news! I ran for the first time in three weeks today!

I’ve just been doing interval work since my half marathon got cancelled three weeks ago, but today I finally felt compelled to head out for a real steady pace run. Three weeks off sure does make you rusty.

rusty run

rusty run

I decided to keep things easy and just did three miles. It is hot in South Dakota. That’s the beauty of the midwest; freezing in the winter and grossly hot in the summer! Can’t catch a break.

Sweatin' post-run

Sweatin’ post-run

It’s amazing how big a difference three weeks off makes. My pace hasn’t changed or anything, but I just felt more fatigued than I would have a month ago. I’m running the Sioux Falls Half Marathon in September, and will probably start training within the next few weeks. Hopefully that one doesn’t get rained out, too.

I’ve been wondering how I should go about training for this race. I usually follow a training plan created by someone else, but I’m considering coming up with my own plan. I’m no expert runner and I’m not sure if there’s some magic formula I need to be following to get the best results. I’ll probably just focus on what has worked for me during past training plans and go from there.

I followed my hot run with a nice cold smoothie.

post-run smoothie

post-run smoothie

Smoothie in a beer mug. Classy, right? Not sure why it looks brown in this picture. This smoothie was simple but delicious. I threw the following ingredients into the blender:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 3 frozen strawberries
  • handful frozen blueberries
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/3 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • handful fresh spinach

Full of fruit! I usually like to use greek yogurt or cottage cheese to thicken my smoothies a little bit. I didn’t have any on hand today so decided to throw some egg whites in instead. I’ve done this in the past so I knew it wouldn’t taste too funky. Also adds even more protein!

I’m off to watch some Netflix and enjoy a relaxing Sunday night!

 

 

