I survived my first 60 hour work week!

I don’t even remember getting into bed last night I was so tired. I slept for 9 hours straight and am feeling like a whole new person!

I love making a special breakfast on Sunday mornings. This morning a scramble was sounding real good, and I knew I had a couple slices of turkey bacon that needed to be cooked sooner than later. The sweet potato & turkey bacon scramble was a success and I’m excited to share the recipe!

Sweet potato & turkey bacon scramble

Sweet potato & turkey bacon scramble

Sweet Potato & Turkey Bacon Scramble:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 sweet potato, cubed
  • diced onion
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • fresh spinach
  • 2 slices turkey bacon, cut into pieces
  • 3 egg whites
  • feta cheese
  • salt, pepper, cayenne pepper

Directions:

Scrambles are pretty self-explanatory. Throw everything but the egg whites, cheese and seasonings into a skillet with a bit of olive oil over medium heat. Cook until potato and veggies soften, throw in seasonings. I cook my eggs in a separate pan, then mix into the vegetables. Top with feta cheese and any other seasonings you’d like! I always throw a little sriracha on mine.

Scramble close-up

Scramble close-up

Now onto some pressing matters.

Does anyone ever try to eat salads while driving?

salad on the go

salad on the go

I’ve been really pressed for time at work this week, and haven’t had much time to sit down and enjoy a mid day meal. During my two hour drive back to the station yesterday, I did my best to balance a ‘strawberry fields’ salad from Culver’s on my lap while simultaneously watching the road. Not an easy task! But sometimes you’ve got to get creative when you’re trying to eat healthy on the road.

P.S.- This is by far my favorite fast food salad. I order it with grilled chicken and it’s delicious!

My Sunday plans include lounging, cleaning, and watching a lot of mindless TV. Just what I need after a crazy stressful week!

 

