Good morning! It’s a gloomy day in the Sioux Empire, but Mike is coming to visit tonight so I’m excited!

I have some pretty good favorites this week. Let’s kick things off on this Friday morning.

Friday Favorites

1. Tropical Smoothies

Smoothie

Smoothie

I’ve been really into tropical flavors in my smoothies lately. I bought a few mangoes this past week and those little devils have been making their way into breakfast, lunch and snacks all week. The above smoothie was made with mango, banana, strawberries, vanilla protein powder and plain greek yogurt. Tropical fruits like mangoes or pineapple just always make me feel like I’m on vacation. Love it!

2. Mike’s LITE Hard Lemonade

Mike's LITE

Mike’s LITE

I’ve been a big fan of Mike’s Hard Lemonade ever since my Mike turned me onto it when we first started dating. My favorite flavor is the black cherry, but honestly I love them all. I can usually only handle drinking one since there is so much sugar in the traditional Mike’s Hard Lemonade. I get pretty bad headaches from too much sugar, especially when it’s mixed with alcohol. That’s why I’m diggin’ the lightened up version of Mike’s Hard Lemonade. It tastes just as good to me, but I definitely noticed how much better I felt after drinking it compared to when I drink a whole regular one. Plus, it’s lemonade with alcohol. Perfect for summer!

3. Sweet Grass 

Sweet Grass Restaurant

Sweet Grass Restaurant

If I was ranking my favorites in order, this would be at the top. This cute little cafe is in Wessington Springs, the small town I’ve been spending a lot of time in lately due to the horrible tornado damage they sustained last week. If you’ve ever spent time in a small town, you’ll know there aren’t typically a whole lot of decent dining options. Sweet Grass completely wipes out any idea I’ve ever had about small town restaurants. Everything they make is fresh, delicious and simple. All the salad dressings hare homemade and the prices are good as well! I’ve eaten here four times in the past week and have yet to have a bad meal. My most recent eat was a chicken salad sandwich on wheat bread and a side salad with house made strawberry vinaigrette. Of course, they make their chicken salad in house.

Chicken Salad Sandwich

Chicken Salad Sandwich

4. Karen Cookies

Chocolate Chip "Karen" Cookies

Chocolate Chip “Karen” Cookies

During my time as a nanny in college, the mother of the kids I watched, Karen always made the same chocolate chip cookie recipe. I got pretty comfortable with the recipe myself, and now it is my go-to chocolate chip cookie. I call them “Karen Cookies” since they will always remind me of her. I made a batch last night for my co-worker’s going away celebration today. I like these cookies because they’re soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. I will most certainly share the recipe on her sooner than later.

That’s all! Weekend time!

 

