Morning!

It has been another crazy week! My family was in town last weekend for the Fourth of July, and I feel like I’ve been trying to catch my breath at work ever since. This is my last week before I start working weekends for good, so I’m planning on going home to Minneapolis on Saturday one last time. The craziness continues.

Let’s jump into Friday Favorites:

1. Fourth Of July Food

IMG_2196

Thanks to my mom I was left with tons of leftovers to polish off this week. Not complaining at all. My mom knows I (try to) eat healthy, so she’s usually pretty good about accommodating me when she’s making meals. For the Fourth of july she whipped up all the staples; brats, burgers, potato salad, fruit salad, etc. However, she went for healthier options in most cases. For example, she bought turkey brats, lean ground beef, potato salad with light mayo, and baked potato chips. I really appreciate the thought, and it means I feel okay eating the leftovers for dinner all week!

2. Extreme Protein Pancakes

IMG_2200

I love protein pancakes, but the best part about making them is getting creative with the toppings. I’m a topping/condiment enthusiast. I don’t like food that isn’t jazzed up. These special little protein pancakes that I made earlier in the week had all the bells and whistles: blueberries, banana, PB2, sugar free preserves, and of course syrup. It might sound like adding so much to these pancakes defeats the purpose of making ‘healthy’ pancakes, but that depends. If you’re topping your food with unhealthy additions like full fat mayo or in this case, full sugar syrup, then you can run into some problems. Adding a couple healthy toppings won’t hurt, and it will make things much more flavorful!

3. Mighty Maple Peanut Butter

IMG_2218

My love for Peanut Butter & Co. continues. This was the only flavor at the grocery store this week that I hadn’t tried, so naturally I had to get it! The texture is unlike any other flavor of theirs. It is so creamy and smooth. I’ve been topping pancakes, toast, and english muffins with this deliciousness all week! I don’t think it’s better than ‘dark chocolate dreams’, but it’s up there.

4. Caramel & Cheddar ‘Boom Chicka Pop’

IMG_2217

IMG_2141

I know this stuff has already made in into Friday Favorites, but I just can’t get over it. During the workday, I honestly dream of how delicious this stuff will be for dessert. It may be one of the best sweet/savory combinations ever created. I know caramel & cheddar popcorn existed before this stuff, but this is my first love affair with it. SO, so good. Plus, it’s not that bad for you!

5. This Scholarly Puppy

Screen Shot 2014-07-10 at 9.55.41 PM

Are you guys familiar with dogs of instagram? If not, I highly recommend checking it out. I get my daily dose of dog cuteness from their posts every day. I love photos of dogs acting or looking like humans. Look at this little honey bun looking like a scholar! Love it! Dogs of instagram is also great anytime I’m feeling a little down. As soon as I see a photo of a cute pup it just brightens my day!

That’s it for Friday Favorites. On a different note, I will be starting my training for my next half marathon this weekend! Let’s hope this one doesn’t get cancelled.

 

