Guess what! I had a normal person weekend this week! Yup, just plain old saturday and sunday.

I asked for this weekend off months ago so I could visit one of my favorite places in the world: Lake Vermilion!

Lake Vermilion

Lake Vermilion

On Friday night I headed to Minneapolis before Mike and I took off up north Saturday morning. We were only up there for about 36 hours, so it was a pretty jam-packed trip. Here are a just a few highlights in chronological order:

Image 13

New favorite road trip snack.

Image 15

Boat rides!

Image 11

Man is water skiing a good workout. My back and forearms are so sore today in a good way. I wish I could do that more often!

Image 19

And Mike tried water skiing for the first time! Woohoo!

Image 2

Visiting Gordy’s Hi-Hat in Cloquet on our way back. Just good old fashioned food.

Image 4

Gordy’s has been a northern Minnesota staple since the 1960s. I think one of the most interesting things about the restaurant is it’s only open during the summer months. That probably explains why it’s always so packed in there!

Image 5

As a kid I always ordered a cheeseburger and fries at Gordy’s. I decided it’s time to branch out so I went with a spicy chicken burger instead. Not bad! You can tell it’s not just a typical frozen chicken patty. Mike went with the roast beef sandwich and a vanilla shake. We decided to split the ‘small’ fry that wasn’t so small after all.

What a weekend! I woke up at 4:00 this morning to drive back to Sioux Falls and make it to work on time. As you can imagine I’m exhausted, but the trip was definitely worth it.

Oh, and remember how Mike and I were supposed to be ‘good’ for the next three weeks before Chicago? Well, that got thrown out the window at Gordy’s. We’re bad influences on each other!

