Good morning! It’s been pretty gloomy in Sioux Falls these past few days which has got me feeling reeeally lazy. My top accomplishments yesterday were making it to the gym and renewing my apartment lease.

Over a week ago I checked out the Sioux Falls Peach Fest and picked up a couple pounds of fresh Georgia peaches that were brought in on trucks. I was set on using the peaches to experiment with different recipes, but I must admit most of them were consumed just by themselves.

I did make a peach & blueberry protein oatmeal, and am now here to share a delicious peach dessert I whipped up!

Simple Peach Crisp:

Peach Crisp

Peach Crisp

I had never made peach crisp before a week ago. I’ve made apple crisp and similar blueberry crisp bars, so I had an idea of what I was getting myself into. After browsing through various recipes on Pinterest and a couple cookbooks, I finally found one that looked perfect from gonnawantseconds.com.

The original recipe comes from the Barefoot Contessa Cookbook and calls for raspberries as well.

Here’s the recipe I followed:

Peach Mixture Ingredients:

  • 8 large peaches, peeled and sliced
  • zest from a large orange
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 3 TBS all purpose flour

Crumble Topping:

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 2 sticks unsalted cold butter, cubed
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, grease 9×13 inch baking dish with non-stick cooking spray
  2. In a large bowl, combine peach mixture ingredients. Gently fold mixture until well combined, spread into baking dish evenly.
  3. Add all topping ingredients into the bowl of a stand-up mixer. Using the paddle attachment, mix on low speed until butter is the size of peas. The mixture should be crumbly.
  4. Spread crumble topping over peach mixture.
  5. Bake in preheated oven for 1 hour, or until top is crispy and the juices are bubbling. I needed to add about 7 extra minutes to my baking time.
  6. Remove from oven, let cool for 10 minutes before serving.

Image 16

I tried a small portion of my peach crisp before dividing the rest into multiple containers for sharing and refrigerating it. Vanilla ice cream would be great with the peach crisp, but sadly I didn’t have any. Here’s a little tip: frozen light whipped topping works as an alternative to vanilla ice cream.

And with that, all my peaches are gone! This recipe was great, but a little sweet for me. I think next time I’ll reduce the amount of sugar used in the peach mixture and maybe add some raspberries to cut the sweetness of the peaches. The topping was by far my favorite part of the dish. I would not make a single change there!

 

 

 

