Good morning!

It’s Friday! Which means it’s really my Monday. I’ve had the past two days off and can’t say I’m looking forward to getting back to work today, but hopefully this next week will fly by!

I’m a little bummed right now. I had an 8 mile run planned for this morning but woke up to pouring rain outside. It’s been so gross in Sioux Falls the past couple of days. Maybe it’s a blessing in disguise because my legs are still dead tired from a lower body workout the other day, and 8 miles doesn’t sound like too much fun right now. Hopefully I can squeeze it in tomorrow morning instead.

Let’s move along to some Friday Favorites:

1. ‘Share a  Diet Coke with Rachel’ 

Image 3Hey that’s me! I’ve been hoping to find a ‘Rachel’ coke or diet coke since the ‘Share a Coke’ campaign started. My co-worker brought this back to the station the other day to show me and I had to snap a pic! It’s the little things in life, right? I’ve seen some pretty obscure names on coke bottles and cans, but I knew a few ‘Rachels’ had to be out there somewhere! I try to keep my soda intake relatively low, but I do like to enjoy a Diet Coke or Diet Dr. Pepper every now and then.

2. Cereal at night

IMG_2367

I’ve been really into having a small bowl of cereal as a late night snack lately. I’m normally not a huge cereal person, which I’m sure will shock everyone, but lately I just can’t stop craving it. My go-to cereal lately has been HyVee brand Oats & More with honey.

IMG_2362I always have cereal on hand to throw in my yogurt or mix into a smoothie for a bit of crunch, but rarely just eat it the old fashioned way with a spoon and some milk! Some of my other favorite cereals lately have been Kashi Golean Crunch and Fiberone 80 Chocolate.

3. Fall Ideas

fall

 

Fall is creepin’ up! Halloween decorations are starting to make their way into stores, and I’ve seen a lot of fall-pinteresting going on lately. The above photo caught my eye while I was browsing Pinterest this week. It’s originally from Fox Hollow Cottage. Fall is my favorite time of year without question. I can’t wait for cooler weather, changing leaves, and of course, everything pumpkin spice flavored!

4. ‘Chicago Food Authority’ Instagram

Screen Shot 2014-08-08 at 8.36.55 AM

When I lived in Chicago, I knew the food was good. Now that I can’t have it, I find myself constantly dreaming of it. the Chicago Food Authority Instragram page is a compilation of various food photos taken around the city. Anyone can submit their photos which is great. I just discovered the instagram account this week and have been drooling over it ever since. Oh what I would give to have any type of cuisine just steps out my front door. Not knocking Sioux Falls, but after living in Chicago for four years I am definitely spoiled when it comes to food options.

5. Chicago Countdown!

I won’t have to wait much longer to get my hands on some of that delicious Chicago food!

In exactly one week, Mike and I will be taking off for Chicago for a long weekend! I am beyond excited. I haven’t seen my Chicago friends since December and can’t wait to be reunited!

Screen Shot 2014-08-08 at 8.37.42 AM

wild college life

wild college life

We already have quite the to-do list, or should I say ‘to-eat’ list while we’re in Chicago. Mike and I are going to stop by some of our favorite places like Ditka’s, Athenian Room, and Homeslice. My former roommate Gabby and I are also planning on going out for sushi, and I’m sure I’ll fit a Chicago hot dog in there somewhere! Most of all, I’m just looking forward to seeing some of my best friends.

I’m heading out of Sioux Falls a day before we leave for Chicago so I’ll have some time to spend with family and friends in Minneapolis. Seriously, this next week can’t go by quick enough. I haven’t been this excited since like…Christmas. That’s saying a lot.

Have a great Friday!

 

 

