Hello!

Even though I work weekends, I love having the mornings free! I’m naturally a morning person and feel much more productive during the first half of the day than I do at night. That means I’m way more motivated to get up and workout before work as opposed to after. This is especially important when you’re training for a race, and have some long, time consuming and exhausting runs scheduled on weekends.

This morning’s run wasn’t too long, but it was definitely exhausting.

My eight mile run was fueled by my typical pre-run snack: PB & banana toast plus a hot mug of coffee.

IMG_2368

 

IMG_2369

 

I waited just over an hour for everything to digest before setting out on my run.

The temperature in Sioux Falls is great for running right now; upper 60s with a light breeze. However, the humidity is unbearable. It was about 95% humidity this morning and it didn’t taper at all throughout my run. I was sweating buckets by about mile three. I have an extremely low tolerance for any type of heat or humidity, so this did not go over well at all.

I felt drained by mile five and really had to work to keep myself motived and focused on finishing strong. All I could think about was the sweat dripping from my face, and how great it would feel to jump into a freezing cold lake.

Despite the unfortunate conditions, I finished. I wasn’t a great run, but at least I did it.

Image 1

As soon as I was done, I walked straight over to the outdoor pool at my apartment complex to wade in the water and cool off. I was greeted by a very sad sight.

Image

Noooooo!!! Life goes on.

Since I couldn’t immerse myself in cold water, I decided to fix myself a cold post-race snack.

IMG_2373

Smoothie with frozen strawberries, blueberries, banana, spinach, chocolate protein powder and almond milk. It cooled me down almost instantly.

Am I the only one who can’t stand any type of humidity during a run? Or an outdoor workout for that matter? I don’t know how Floridians do it. I can’t imagine running in the extreme humidity and extreme heat. Yuck. I can’t wait for the fall weather that’s just around the corner!

 

 

