Good morning!

I hope wherever you’re starting your day is a bit warmer than South Dakota right now. We’re barely going to make it into the 50s today. Yikes! One good thing about the cool weather? It’s put me in ultra Fall-mode.

Last night I decided to bring out some of the Fall decor. I feel a little silly going all out right now, so I’ll probably wait until the beginning of October or so to bring out the pumpkins and Halloween candy dishes. Baby steps.

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 10.09.52 AM

And of course, the arrival of Fall means the arrival of everything pumpkin spice flavored!

IMG_2404

I do like pumpkin spice, but I feel like it has gotten a little overboard in the past few years. I stick to coffee creamer, tea, and canned pumpkin to get my pumpkin fix. I must admit I have been intrigued by the pumpkin spice pudding I’ve seen in the grocery store. Thoughts?

Speaking of the grocery store, I’m having some grocery dilemmas in my life right now.

I’ve really been trying to stick to spending no more than $50 on food and groceries each week. Judging by the way my refrigerator looks, things aren’t going well.

IMG_2409

It looks pretty bare, but my goal is to make it through the next few days with the food I have on hand. I’ve surpassed my $50 limit for the week thanks to eating out a few times last weekend. I just have to make it through to Monday! Here’s what I’m working with:

Breakfast:

  • Egg whites
  • Oatmeal
  • Peanut butter
  • Banana

Lunch:

  • Sliced turkey
  • Bread
  • Cheese
  • Spinach
  • Tuna
  • Grapes

Dinner:

  • Ground turkey
  • Chicken breast (less than 1/2 pound)
  • Peppers
  • Frozen veggies (very few)
  • Beans
  • Quinoa

Snacks:

  • Cottage cheese
  • Yogurt
  • Almonds
  • Grapes

I know the food I have will last through Monday without a problem, but I don’t just want to eat; I want to eat healthy. And that’s where the problem lies when you’re living on a pretty tight budget.

When I throw cost out the window, here’s what my typical grocery hauls look like:

20140324_212846

If only I could afford that all the time. But, this will be good for me. And hopefully I’ll learn how to save a little better and buy only what I really need.

Also, I cut all my hair off yesterday!

Image

Crazy, right?

 

