I have been meaning to post this recipe for weeks. Finally, here it is! The long-awaited (on my part at least) Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower!

 

Mashed cauliflower is a healthier alternative to mashed potatoes. It is extremely easy and also delicious!

Ingredients:

Makes 2 servings.

  • 4 cups cauliflower florets, frozen or fresh
  • 1/4 cup milk, any kind will work
  • 1/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbs light butter
  • 1 tsp dried or fresh chives
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Boil cauliflower in a medium pot on high for 25 minutes, or until it is falling apart soft.
  • When cauliflower is done, drain water and mash cauliflower thoroughly.
  • Add milk, butter, cheese, garlic powder, salt and pepper to cauliflower, continue to mash.
  • Once the cauliflower is close to the consistency of mashed potatoes, scoop onto plate and top with chives.

If you don’t have a potato masher you can use the back of a fork to mash the cauliflower. It is very important that you boil the cauliflower until it is soft, otherwise it will be much more difficult to mash.

Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower

The taste resembles mashed potatoes so closely, it’s hard to believe it’s cauliflower! Even Mike, who can be tough to impress with “healthy” food, gobbled it right up. You can dress these up the same way you can with real potatoes. Add bacon bits, sour cream, or maybe some plain greek yogurt.

yummy time!

Alright, moving on. I have some BIG news! Well, not really. As I’ve shared in previous posts, I’m currently training for the Hot Chocolate 15k on November 4th. My long run this week is up to seven miles, and I’ve been putting it off all week due to the fact that I have a sinus infection and haven’t really been up for a run. Not to mention anything over five miles scares the heck out of me. I really surprised myself this morning, and completed my dreaded seven mile run in 1:02:36. I couldn’t believe it! I have been planning on running an average pace of 9:40 for my 15k. However, today I was under 9:00 for every single mile. Not going to lie, it made me feel preeetty darn good.

Setting goals is the best thing you can do when training for any type of fitness event. It gives that extra umph of motivation that you just can’t get anywhere else. Also, the feeling of breaking your goal provides a feeling of satisfaction that makes all the hard work worth it.

Alright, I’m off to watch some more of this ultra dramatic episode of Keeping up with the Kardashians. DRAMA!